Lunchtime talks

Aberdeen Maritime Museum

Talk

10/01/2018 - 18/04/2018
12.30pm

Talks take place at Aberdeen Maritime Museum on Wednesdays at 12.30pm (30 mins).

Admission is free but advance booking is required on 01224 337714.

Wednesday 10 January
Historical hazards:
hidden dangers in museum collections

Morna Annandale, Curator (Decorative Art)

Wednesday 17 January
Sea Change sound installation
Professor Pete Stollery, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 24 January
The Aberdeen night sky in winter
Neville Browne, Aberdeen Astronomical Society

Wednesday 31 January
From street side to CCTV:
envisioning Aberdeen Harbour

Professor Ed Welch, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 7 February
Oil wives
Dr Tom McKean, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 14 February
Love and the museum: a survey of romantic objects from the collections of Aberdeen Art Gallery & Museums
Madeline Ward, Learning Officer

Wednesday 28 February
UK fisheries policy after Brexit:
challenges and opportunities

Dr Craig McAngus, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 7 March
Oil spills in the marine environment:
impacts and clean up strategies

Luis Jose Perez Caleron and Lloyd Potts,
University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 14 March
Seabirds and marine mammals in a
changing world

Professor Paul Thompson, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 21 March
Creating a Roman confusion: antiquarians
and archaeologists in the North East

Neil Curtis, University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 28 March
Public opinion, climate change and sentiment
Dr Marc Gronwald and Chenghua Lin,
University of Aberdeen

Wednesday 4 April
The Young Ones: children's lives revealed
in archaeological collections

Dr Jessica Williams, Lead Curator (History)

Wednesday 11 April
For the love of the sea: maritime subjects
in the art of James McBey

Liz Louis, Curator (Fine Art)

Wednesday 18 April
What future for the UK continental shelf:
the 2018 perspective

Professor Alex Kemp, University of Aberdeen

talks