About Provost Skene's House

About Provost Skene's House

Built in the 16th century, Provost Skene's House is one of Aberdeen's few remaining examples of early burgh architecture. The building has been altered several times, particularly in the 17th century when George Skene, after whom the house is named, is thought to have commissioned the carved plaster ceilings. In the 1930s the adjacent houses were demolished, but Provost Skene's House was saved and the interior refurbished.

The atmosphere of the 17th century is recreated in the Great Hall, Parlour and Bedroom with furnishings and paintings of the period. This contrasts with the refined style of the 18th century Dining Room and Bedroom. The Dining Room is resplendent with fine china, Georgian glasses and a magnificent lead-glass chandelier. Elegance is also celebrated in the Regency Parlour, a rather more intimate setting. The 17th century Painted Gallery houses an important cycle of religious paintings and visitors can enjoy the changing programme of themed displays in the Costume Gallery.

Provost Skene's House is temporarily closed to the Public

The House will be closed during the development of Marischal Square. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

 

4 Star Historic Attraction

Location

Provost Skene's House
Guestrow (between Broad Street and Flourmill Lane)
Aberdeen
AB10 1AS

Tel: +44 (0) 1224 641086
Fax: +44 (0) 1224 632133

Email: info@aagm.co.uk