The Tolbooth Museum

The Tolbooth Museum is one of Aberdeen's oldest buildings and one of the best-preserved 17th century gaols in Scotland. It features displays on local history and the development of crime and punishment through the centuries. The Tolbooth Museum provides a unique experience in the form of its atmospheric 17th and 18th century cells, original doors and barred windows. Displays include the Maiden and the blade of Aberdeen's 17th century guillotine.

Opening Hours

Monday - Saturday 10am-5pm
Sunday 12noon - 3pm

Festive Opening Hours

Friday 21 December - OPEN
Saturday 22 December - OPEN
Sunday 23 December - OPEN
Monday 24 December - OPEN
Tuesday 25 December - CLOSED
Wednesday 26 December - CLOSED
Thursday 27 December - OPEN
Friday 28 December - OPEN
Saturday 29 December - OPEN
Sunday 30 December - OPEN
Monday 31 January - CLOSED
Tuesday 1 January - CLOSED
Wednesday 2 January - CLOSED

We will reopen as normal from the Thursday 3 January

Admission free

Download The Tolbooth Plan

Location

The Tolbooth Museum
Castle Street
Aberdeen
AB11 5BQ

Tel: +44 (0) 1224 621167
Email: info@aagm.co.uk

 

Please note

Please note that we do not have toilets or a café available within The Tolbooth Museum. These facilities are available at the nearby Aberdeen Maritime Museum, located on Shiprow.