lunchbreak-banner

Lunchbreak Concerts

Our popular series of Lunchbreak Concerts features an exciting programme in the Cowdray Hall under the artistic direction of Dr. Roger B. Williams, M.B.E. (University of Aberdeen).

Concerts run from 12.45 - 1.30pm, unless otherwise stated.

Admission is free although donations are welcome. A sandwich lunch, provided by the Friends of Aberdeen Art Gallery & Museums, can be purchased at Thursday concerts.

Lunchbreak Concerts 2014-15

Thursday 27 November
ABERDEEN CITY MUSIC SCHOOL
An exciting programme from the school's young musicians.

Thursday 4 December 12.45-1.45pm
THE SONGS OF HENRY DUPARC, HIS INFLUENCE AND CIRCLE FRANCK AS TEACHER, WITH JOHN MARK AINSLEY AND JOSEPH MIDDLETON
Music by Duparc, Franck, Chaminade, D'Indy, Chausson, De Breville and Bordes.
In association with BBC

Thursday 11 December
STUDENTS OF NORTH EAST OF SCOTLAND MUSIC SCHOOL
Miriam Aspden (Piano), Duncan Pirrie (Voice), Fiona Marshall (Oboe) with Drew Tulloch (Piano).

Thursday 18 December
CAROLS FOR ALL
Drew Tulloch (Piano) and Roger B Williams (Director).

Saturday 10 January 1-1.45pm
NIALL BROWN AND ISABELLA TRÜB
Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata. Brahms: Sonata in F Major.

Tuesday 13 January 5.30-6.15pm
RUSH HOUR CONCERT
MARGARET PRESTON (FLUTE) AND WINNIE FOSTER (PIANO)
CARRE-FOUR
Music and poetry from France by Hahn, Fauré, Debussy, Baudelaire and Verlaine.

Thursday 15 January
BUCKSBURN ACADEMY STEEL ORCHESTRA
Director: Tracy Milne.

Thursday 22 January
ROBERT GORDON'S COLLEGE
Music inspired by Robert Burns.

Thursday 29 January
PATRICK CURLETT (VIOLIN) AND LYNDA COCHRANE (PIANO)
Music by Mozart, Poulenc and Brahms.
In association with RSNO Aberdeen Circle

Tuesday 3 February 5.30-6.15pm
RUSH HOUR CONCERT
JOSEPH LONG (PIANO)
Beethoven: Waldstein Sonata.

Thursday 5 February
ST MARGARET'S SCHOOL FOR GIRLS
A programme featuring young musicians and singers.

Thursday 12 February
L'INVITATION AU VOYAGE:
THE POWER OF THE POET LISA MILNE AND JOSEPH MIDDLETON
Music by Duparc, Chabrier, Fauré, Schumann, de Séverac, de Bréville and Debussy.
In association with BBC

Thursday 19 February
FRANCE GOES TO BAYREUTH:
L'ESPRIT DE WAGNER RENATA POKUPIC AND JOSEPH MIDDLETON

Music by Duparc, Wolf, Liszt, Chausson and Wagner.
In association with BBC

Thursday 26 February
CONSTRAINT AU SILENCE! MADNESS AND THE SACRED IN MUSIC.
KIT WHATELY, ANNA STEPHANY AND JOSEPH MIDDLETON

Music by Duparc, Wolf, Schumann and Fauré.
In association with BBC

 

Find us

Reviews

Visit our Reviews page for reviews of past Lunchbreak Concerts.